What's new
Roleplay UK

Join the UK's biggest roleplay community on FiveM and experience endless new roleplay opportunities!

is my setup bad?

SoniX-X

hellos guys i shall start with my specs,

msi 970 gaming motherboard

fx 8350 black (8 cores, 4ghz stock) cooled by corsair h100

8gb hyperx ram

1070 amp extreme edition

no ssd all on harddrive :(

when playing altis life i usually sit at like 20-40 fps, but in kavala it can drop as low as 10 fps some times D: which as you should know makes me want to throw my pc out of the window and crawl into a whole and live there. just want to ask anyone know a possible reason why i hav esuch low fps?

i am thinking of upgrading my pc (i5 6600k, asus z170, 16gb ram) but i have no $$$ at the moment :( so they just dreams atm sadly. any one have a i5 6600k + 1070? wat sort of fps you get?

thanks for any replies :)

Arma 3 is first and foremost a CPU based game. I have very little knowledge about AMD CPU, so I cannot help you much there. But, if you lag in Arma 3 i would say that the CPU takes the blame. Your GPU/VRAM/RAM should be perfectly capable of running Arma 3 at around 60fps outside cities, maybe a bit less. 

If you DO upgrade your CPU, you would ofcourse need to change MB. Be sure to store the box Windows came in, sometimes the license does not get automatically deactivated, which would result in you have to call in to Windows to reset it for you (This rarely happens, but it does happen sometimes). This is because the license gets registered to the MB it was used on. 

As Above, Arma is primarily a CPU intensive game, and is not-well optomised for multi-core multi-threading, so more cores != more performance. Most Intel i5/i7 CPUs will have better Single-Threaded Performance which is what Arma craves most. Couple that with no SSD and you're introducing some additional processing latency.